Author Topic: [PSX] Final Fantasy VII Menu  (Read 5953 times)

darkvadd7

  • *
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
    • ChristopherNolan.fr
[PSX] Final Fantasy VII Menu
« on: 2009-02-16 11:50:46 »
Hi,
I would like to know if it's possible to translate, or modify the menu of Final Fantasy VII, and in which file it is. Because I'm french and I want to translate the US version to have the NTSC version of this game in french?
Thank you.

hotdog963al

  • *
  • Posts: 236
  • Horse
    • View Profile
    • Horse HQ
Re: [PSX] Final Fantasy VII Menu
« Reply #1 on: 2009-02-16 11:59:41 »
- Menu text can be found in the .MNU files under /MENU/
- Main menu text (Item, Equip, Materia etc) can be found in /SCUS_941.63

You will have to use a Hex Editor to change the text:
http://wiki.qhimm.com/FF7/Text_encoding <- this will come in handy.

darkvadd7

  • *
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
    • ChristopherNolan.fr
Re: [PSX] Final Fantasy VII Menu
« Reply #2 on: 2009-02-16 18:51:56 »
Thanks, I think the texts are compressed, because I can't find words in files. I'm using .tbl files with matching values.

hotdog963al

  • *
  • Posts: 236
  • Horse
    • View Profile
    • Horse HQ
Re: [PSX] Final Fantasy VII Menu
« Reply #3 on: 2009-02-16 21:15:45 »
I didn't decompress anything, I tried using a TBL but found it easier just doing it the old fashioned way!
Do a search for "ATERIA" in SCUS_941.63, and "LOUD" in NAMEMENU.MNU

darkvadd7

  • *
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
    • ChristopherNolan.fr
Re: [PSX] Final Fantasy VII Menu
« Reply #4 on: 2009-02-16 23:03:07 »
OK, I have them, but they are not complete, and I can't modify files directly in the iso. (Sorry I'm a novice)

hotdog963al

  • *
  • Posts: 236
  • Horse
    • View Profile
    • Horse HQ
Re: [PSX] Final Fantasy VII Menu
« Reply #5 on: 2009-02-17 08:19:45 »
OK, I have them, but they are not complete, and I can't modify files directly in the iso. (Sorry I'm a novice)
Grab CDMage
You can export and import files from the ISO. (Provided bytes match up)
Be sure to select Mode2!

darkvadd7

  • *
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
    • ChristopherNolan.fr
Re: [PSX] Final Fantasy VII Menu
« Reply #6 on: 2009-02-17 12:45:20 »
I have grabbed CDMage, but I can't find the import option. And with which editor you modify the files, because I have some things like this :
"iâ„¢Sÿ)TEMÿ       -AGICÿ      -ATERIAÿ    %QUIPÿ      3TATUSÿ     /RDERÿ      ,IMITÿ      #ONFIGÿ"

hotdog963al

  • *
  • Posts: 236
  • Horse
    • View Profile
    • Horse HQ
Re: [PSX] Final Fantasy VII Menu
« Reply #7 on: 2009-02-17 17:58:34 »
Right click the file you want to replace in CDMage and click Import.

Use HxD: http://mh-nexus.de/en/hxd/
It will show the lowercase characters in uppercase, and the uppercase characters as symbols, ignore this, edit with hex instead (use the character encoding table from the wiki).

darkvadd7

  • *
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
    • ChristopherNolan.fr
Re: [PSX] Final Fantasy VII Menu
« Reply #8 on: 2009-02-18 21:38:48 »
Thank you very much, it works.
« Last Edit: 2009-03-05 12:56:29 by Vadd_VII »

darkvadd7

  • *
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
    • ChristopherNolan.fr
Re: [PSX] Final Fantasy VII Menu
« Reply #9 on: 2009-03-05 12:56:14 »
I wan't to know where the dialogs in battles are (like versus the first boss when Cloud says to Barret to be careful).

ff7rules

  • *
  • Posts: 423
    • View Profile
Re: [PSX] Final Fantasy VII Menu
« Reply #10 on: 2009-03-05 14:04:58 »
I wan't to know where the dialogs in battles are (like versus the first boss when Cloud says to Barret to be careful).

Its located in the Scene bud scene 82 its in the actual script of Guard Scorpion

hotdog963al

  • *
  • Posts: 236
  • Horse
    • View Profile
    • Horse HQ
Re: [PSX] Final Fantasy VII Menu
« Reply #11 on: 2009-03-05 15:44:54 »
Use SceneReader to unpack Battle/Scene.bin into individual chunks.
Then use the Hex Editor to translate it... it's time consuming but I don't think there is an easier way. (Could be a tool out there!)
Make sure you dont inflate the files, if you add bytes, clip the same amount you added off the end of the file (make sure you only clip padding).

Once it's done, SceneReader can rebuild your Scene.bin. Hurrah!