Author Topic: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Smoother 60FPS Battles (v0.95)  (Read 302675 times)

Hellbringer616

  • *
  • Posts: 1913
    • View Profile
Re: Battles playing at 60fps
« Reply #100 on: 2014-07-21 22:24:55 »
Unfortunately still can't do anything with the limit breaks

I know that Bolsa made LiBrE. since he made an editor maybe he at least knows where or how the animations are stored?

obesebear

  • *
  • Posts: 1389
    • View Profile
Re: Battles playing at 60fps
« Reply #101 on: 2014-07-21 22:33:26 »
I know that Bolsa made LiBrE. since he made an editor maybe he at least knows where or how the animations are stored?
They're stored in magic.lgp   The problem is that they don't have parent files to load into kimera.... well, rather that the parent files are the **AA files in battle.lgp but kimera doesn't have the functionality to recognize them.

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11006
    • View Profile
Re: Battles playing at 60fps
« Reply #102 on: 2014-07-22 00:16:42 »
Well, over on my side, I finally sussed how to stop the knights disappearing in the summon, but it does mean 13 exceptions have to be manually coded... 1 for each knight (they each have their own function and the entire summon has one massive function).  lmao.

Oh dear. 

We'll see.

obesebear

  • *
  • Posts: 1389
    • View Profile
Re: Battles playing at 60fps
« Reply #103 on: 2014-07-22 01:33:12 »
Well, over on my side, I finally sussed how to stop the knights disappearing in the summon, but it does mean 13 exceptions have to be manually coded... 1 for each knight (they each have their own function and the entire summon has one massive function).  lmao.

Oh dear. 

We'll see.
At least you've found a fix! 

nfitc1

  • *
  • Posts: 3011
  • I just don't know what went wrong.
    • View Profile
    • WM/PrC Blog
Re: Battles playing at 60fps
« Reply #104 on: 2014-07-22 17:44:17 »
Unfortunately still can't do anything with the limit breaks

I just made some progress with the limit animations.
The weapon animation data in the limit files is different from the normal animation files. I've already successfully opened, interpolated, saved, injected, and tested Cross-slash's animation. The only issue is saving. The weapon bone gets lost in the process.

Here's what I had to do:

1. Copy kyou.a00 from magic.lgp into the folder with the rest of the rt** files.
2. rename rtda to something else. I usuaully prefix it with "~"
3. rename kyou.a00 to rtda
4. Open rtaa in hex editor and change byte 0x24 and 0x28 to 00h.
5. Remove rtck - rtcz from the directory (these increase the weapon counts in kimera where the problem exists)
6. Open rtaa in kimera
7. Interpolate
8. Save
9. rename rtda to kyou.a00 and reinsert into magic.lgp

Cloud did Cross-Slash just fine, but the weapon vanished. Something about that animation file is making kimera think the weapons aren't right and things go weird. While not so viable for Cloud, it would work fine for Red XIII. :D

obesebear

  • *
  • Posts: 1389
    • View Profile
Re: Battles playing at 60fps
« Reply #105 on: 2014-07-22 17:55:10 »
This may seem like a stupid question, but did you put rtck-rtcz back into the file before testing?

Really, really hope it's that simple lol

nfitc1

  • *
  • Posts: 3011
  • I just don't know what went wrong.
    • View Profile
    • WM/PrC Blog
Re: Battles playing at 60fps
« Reply #106 on: 2014-07-22 18:03:48 »
I never took it out. I'm not doing anything to battle.lgp, just magic.lgp

obesebear

  • *
  • Posts: 1389
    • View Profile
Re: Battles playing at 60fps
« Reply #107 on: 2014-07-22 18:08:42 »
All right.  Well I'm almost done with the summons so I'll take a swing at the limits and see if I can't make anything work

nfitc1

  • *
  • Posts: 3011
  • I just don't know what went wrong.
    • View Profile
    • WM/PrC Blog
Re: Battles playing at 60fps
« Reply #108 on: 2014-07-22 18:29:01 »
Here are the animation files sorted by animation index:

00   BLAVER.A00
01   KYOU.A00
02   LIMCL2.A00
03   LIMCL6.A00
04   LIMCL3.A00
05   LIMCL7.A00
06   LIMCL4.A00
07   HVSHOT.A00
08   LIMBR5.A00
09   LIMBR2.A00
0A   LIMBR6.A00
0B   LIMBR3.A00
0C   LIMBR7.A00
0D   LIMBR4.A00
0E   LIMEA5.A00
0F   LIMEA2.A00
10   LIMEA6.A00
11   LIMEA3.A00
12   KODO.A00
13   LIMEA4.A00
14   LIMFAST.A00
15   BLAVER.A00
16  BLAVER.A00
17   BLAVER.A00
18   BLAVER.A00
19   BLAVER.A00
1A   BLAVER.A00
1B   LIMCD1.A00
1C   LIMCD5.A00
1D   LIMCD2.A00
1E   LIMCD6.A00
1F   LIMCD3.A00
20   LIMCD7.A00
21   LIMCD4.A00
22   LIMSLED.A00
23   LIMRD5.A00
24   LIMSLED.A00
25   LIMRD6.A00
26   LIMRD3.A00
27   LIMRD7.A00
28   LIMRD4.A00
29   DICE.A00
2A   BLAVER.A00
2B   BLAVER.A00
2C   BLAVER.A00
2D   BLAVER.A00
2E   BLAVER.A00
2F   BLAVER.A00
30   LIMYF1.A00
31   LIMYF5.A00
32   LIMYF2.A00
33   LIMYF6.A00
34   LIMYF3.A00
35   LIMYF7.A00
36   LIMYF4.A00
4C   LIMCL7.A00
4E   LIMCL2.A00

I don't know why BLAVER.A00 is repeated and the other animations just have no file name pointer at all.

obesebear

  • *
  • Posts: 1389
    • View Profile
Re: Battles playing at 60fps
« Reply #109 on: 2014-07-22 21:48:47 »
First post updated with new download. 

A veritable shit ton has been done.  Though there are still a few issues to iron out, I'm pretty proud of everything we've gotten done and wanted to share.  Any problems you notice that aren't listed in the readme, please let us know!

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11006
    • View Profile
Re: Battles playing at 60fps
« Reply #110 on: 2014-07-22 22:27:57 »
Magics are all handled from functions that that call makes, NFITC1.  The summons, items, enemy skills... everything, most likely (The knights of round is)

00BF23B8

The list of functions that are executed are placed starting there (the function queue as you said).  Cure for example, calls 2.  One sets things like the "CURE" title bar and text... the rest are the green sprites, called multiple times to generate the effect you see on screen.

Since the counter for the main call can go to 63h, this probably means the total functions that can be called in any one magic is 100.

What I'm thinking is, in order to get these magic effects running at the speed you want, you are going to have to mess about calling the main call 3 of 4 frames (or something) or manually edit the counters(maybe) for each and every function that is called (that would be a nightmare, but I can supply you with the way to find all that get called).

Let me know what you think.


In related news... I fixed the issue with knights of round, but not how I'd like...  basically I have to make that call function call all 13 knights' functions.  I've done this by comparing the register value to the knights' functions, but only when the main call is being skipped by the pause var.  It's a very annoying fix.

So let's take first few knights....

0047ABB0
0047C793
0047CBAE
0048034E
00480776

If the value in the register is 0047ABB0, it will always be called.  Thus the knight will never disappear.  I have no idea why the knights disappear when the call isn't calling them... and yet other magics that use the same call function do not. (like cure).



« Last Edit: 2014-07-23 01:23:52 by DLPB »

Hellbringer616

  • *
  • Posts: 1913
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] 60FPS Battles (v0.8)
« Reply #111 on: 2014-07-23 01:13:15 »
So first bug report of the Beta
firing animations (Barret, Sweeper, Shinra Guard) are bugged, The damage calculates far after the animation is done. And the actual muzzle flash animation is way out of sync

obesebear

  • *
  • Posts: 1389
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] 60FPS Battles (v0.81)
« Reply #112 on: 2014-07-23 01:57:06 »
If you downloaded .8 please get .81.  It has the summon fixes.

Kaldarasha

  • *
  • Posts: 2449
  • Prince of Model Editing
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] 60FPS Battles (v0.81)
« Reply #113 on: 2014-07-23 15:09:16 »
Well I can't get this mod to work entirely. There seam to be something wrong with the battle animation of one or a few enemies. Every time I enter a battle the game crashes. It also seams that 7th heaven has an bad impact to it.
In the end I used the direct mode and used only the main characters animations and started the game without 7th Heaven. I'm not sure if it's only me, but for me does the animations look to 'clean'. I think a 30FPS mode would look more usual maybe.

obesebear

  • *
  • Posts: 1389
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] 60FPS Battles (v0.81)
« Reply #114 on: 2014-07-23 16:28:47 »
Yeah I always did testing using the direct method.  I did notice that if I had too many models in the folder it would crash.

And I've put hundreds of high poly models into the battle.lgp with no problem...  so I don't know why it would cause a crash, and I don't know how Hellbringer got his to work.

obesebear

  • *
  • Posts: 1389
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] 60FPS Battles (v0.81)
« Reply #115 on: 2014-07-23 23:21:19 »
Fresh copy of FF7, install OGL Driver, install HextLaunch, config both, applied reunion patch.
Than i copied the TA released models to the battle.lgp, copied the animation files into the battle.lgp and magic.lgp, patched the .exe, loaded up the game.

EDIT: Guard Scorpion's tail attack is smooth as silk, but again damage calculations seem to take 4 times as long at least

I wonder if the reunion patch is affecting your damage calculations, mine are showing up on time but are off the screen too quickly.

NFITC1, DLPB found the value that fixes a lot of things except the camera is at 30fps.  Any chance you can work your magic and interpolate the frames once?

Also, this 005BB464 = 2C 00 should be the change necessary to get the damage to stay on the screen as long as it used to, and it works, but it each frame it's in a different place.  Any ideas?

As an update, I'm slowly putting these models in the direct folder to try to figure out which one is causing a crash on battle start.  So far I'm through the bombing mission and all playable characters with no errors.  AND IT LOOKS DAMN GOOD


Hellbringer616

  • *
  • Posts: 1913
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] 60FPS Battles (v0.81)
« Reply #116 on: 2014-07-24 01:33:37 »
I'm such an idiot. I just realized I never put the 60fps battle. Lgp into the folder.. Nor was I launching from hext launch. I am an idiot.. I'm getting the crash on start of battles in the bowels of the reactor. So my guess is cloud, Barret, sweeper, or the grunt is causing the crash. Though you said you completed the bombing mission.. So i am guessing that i'm still doing something wrong

For this test I removed all custom battle models and it still crashes.
« Last Edit: 2014-07-24 01:49:44 by Hellbringer616 »

nfitc1

  • *
  • Posts: 3011
  • I just don't know what went wrong.
    • View Profile
    • WM/PrC Blog
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] 60FPS Battles (v0.81)
« Reply #117 on: 2014-07-24 11:54:26 »
NFITC1, DLPB found the value that fixes a lot of things except the camera is at 30fps.  Any chance you can work your magic and interpolate the frames once?

What happened to the slow cam patch I gave you that you said you had? Doesn't that fix the problem or does that compound an issue that DLPB fixed?

obesebear

  • *
  • Posts: 1389
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] 60FPS Battles (v0.81)
« Reply #118 on: 2014-07-24 13:06:45 »
I thought that quadrupled the frames.

nfitc1

  • *
  • Posts: 3011
  • I just don't know what went wrong.
    • View Profile
    • WM/PrC Blog
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] 60FPS Battles (v0.81)
« Reply #119 on: 2014-07-24 13:41:36 »
It looked to me like it was adding extra interpolations, but wasn't that the goal if you went from 15 to 60? If DLPB makes everything run at 30 and the camera is unaltered, is it running correctly?

obesebear

  • *
  • Posts: 1389
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] 60FPS Battles (v0.81)
« Reply #120 on: 2014-07-24 13:47:48 »
It does still work, but it's too slow

nfitc1

  • *
  • Posts: 3011
  • I just don't know what went wrong.
    • View Profile
    • WM/PrC Blog
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] 60FPS Battles (v0.81)
« Reply #121 on: 2014-07-24 14:28:09 »
Then does it need to just double? That's a simple adjustment.

obesebear

  • *
  • Posts: 1389
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] 60FPS Battles (v0.81)
« Reply #122 on: 2014-07-24 14:33:22 »
Then does it need to just double? That's a simple adjustment.
I believe so.  41BDE5 = C7 45 E8 01 00 00 00 is the value he altered.

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11006
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] 60FPS Battles (v0.81)
« Reply #123 on: 2014-07-24 17:28:45 »
To be clear, that instruction sets the menu back to what it was with the PSX...  i.e. a full 60fps frame rate, which will look correct at 60fps.  It also sets the camera back to what it was on the PSX (30fps, on PSX double frames to compensate).  Obviously, 30fps is still too slow for 60fps on PC (which doesn't do the doubling up that the PSX does).

That instruction also fixes some other things like damage calculation, and hit times.  (At least it should).


obesebear

  • *
  • Posts: 1389
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] 60FPS Battles (v0.81)
« Reply #124 on: 2014-07-24 22:42:43 »
New upload on First post.  BIG fixes.