Author Topic: [FF7] Original and Outdated Tutorial - Bootleg Configurator  (Read 1624840 times)

Fischkopf

  • *
  • Posts: 217
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Bootleg Configurator and FF7 Mod Installation
« Reply #2400 on: 2013-01-19 18:41:08 »
Hey PitBrad i noticed some problems with the german text, most of the text in the menu options is displayed wrong. For instance, when i start the game it shows:

13
Load Game

Or in a shop dialog it says "Chocobo Treffen" (meet chocobo)

But the german dialogue text seems correct, only some menu options are wrong.

My BratCode is: 01010601010100000010111131111002212111221121151200112

PitBrat

  • *
  • Posts: 1376
  • Change to feed the machine.
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Bootleg Configurator and FF7 Mod Installation
« Reply #2401 on: 2013-01-19 19:07:24 »
The memory leak is an issue with the OpenGL driver.  Hopefully we'll receive a new version that fixes the problem.

The German menu text is radically different from the English text.  It just doesn't fit into the English executable.  I've updated the German translation since 040.  I don't read German, so I'm not even able to test the results.

There is a torrent file containing the Bootleg executable.  The file is too large for most free file hosts.  Google drive is the best solution I've found so far.  Are you downloading the file from outside of the US?

Kompass63

  • *
  • Posts: 695
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Bootleg Configurator and FF7 Mod Installation
« Reply #2402 on: 2013-01-19 23:10:16 »
Hi Fischkopf

Now I know where the error is.
PitBrat has downloaded one of my 0_ff7.exe.txt for touphScript, when it was still in development.
TouphScript unfortunately does not work well enough for the EXE.
Here is a newer 0_ff7.exe.txt.

Download touphScript and try to let only the 0_ff7.exe.txt insert.
Then you can (but need not) change with a hex editor a few things.

Greeting Kompass63

EDIT: It is currently still in development ;D
« Last Edit: 2013-01-19 23:15:10 by Kompass63 »

Kaldarasha

  • *
  • Posts: 2449
  • Prince of Model Editing
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Bootleg Configurator and FF7 Mod Installation
« Reply #2403 on: 2013-01-19 23:13:53 »
Couldn't we work this now out with DLPB's Tools. I had a short look in to it and it looks promising.

Kompass63

  • *
  • Posts: 695
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Bootleg Configurator and FF7 Mod Installation
« Reply #2404 on: 2013-01-19 23:17:03 »
Yes, that is my next step...

Kaldarasha

  • *
  • Posts: 2449
  • Prince of Model Editing
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Bootleg Configurator and FF7 Mod Installation
« Reply #2405 on: 2013-01-19 23:23:43 »
Sounds great! ;D
I'm working on my german mod again too. Actually I want do some refinements to Sephiroth but I think that I should wait until someone could bring in more light in this transparency issue. :cry:

PitBrat

  • *
  • Posts: 1376
  • Change to feed the machine.
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Bootleg Configurator and FF7 Mod Installation
« Reply #2406 on: 2013-01-19 23:29:47 »
Thanks, Kompass63!
I did have an old German translation and only a few of the hex edits.
I was already using DLPB's hextedit to change the EXE, but I didn't have the additional key edits.

I really screwed up the language conversion in 040.
I hope I can recruit someone to test these changes when using the CD-ROM version of FF7.

Gee

  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Bootleg Configurator and FF7 Mod Installation
« Reply #2407 on: 2013-02-17 17:41:56 »
Questions from a dim person that's likely got a really straight forward answer.

When I start a new game the game skips the opening cutscene and goes straight to the train section. However all I can see is a black screen and I can also only hear sound effects with no music. The game's still responsive it's just I'm playing blind. The strange part is when I load up a save that I made prior to modding FF7 (first save point) everything works fine; I can see everything, music and effects plays like a dream but again when it comes to a FMV cutscene the game skips past it.

Is this just a case of me needing to get the enhanced cutscenes download (I did specify that I didn't want to use them when I was using the bootleg tool) or is there something more dodgy at play?

Thanks in advance

EDIT: Forgot to add I'm using the CD-Rom version

EDIT2: I think I've found the problem regarding the FMV issue. I didn't realise Bootleg was being told to go look for the movies in an empty folder so I'm copying all the movies files from the CD over to the folder to see if that sorts it. I would just download the enhanced versions but whenever I try the links given by Bootleg all I get is a 505 error from Google.
« Last Edit: 2013-02-17 18:40:20 by Gee »

dkma841

  • *
  • Posts: 1225
  • delete
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Bootleg Configurator and FF7 Mod Installation
« Reply #2408 on: 2013-02-18 14:36:07 »
^ You can find a bunch of mirrors available for that in the Big List of Mods page

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 3199
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: [Tutorial] Bootleg Configurator and FF7 Mod Installation
« Reply #2409 on: 2013-02-18 15:37:49 »
EDIT2: I think I've found the problem regarding the FMV issue. I didn't realise Bootleg was being told to go look for the movies in an empty folder so I'm copying all the movies files from the CD over to the folder to see if that sorts it. I would just download the enhanced versions but whenever I try the links given by Bootleg all I get is a 505 error from Google.

You need to choose Maximum Installation when installing the game. This will install the FMV's to your hard drive.

miracle.flame

  • *
  • Posts: 164
  • ^_^
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Bootleg Configurator and FF7 Mod Installation
« Reply #2410 on: 2013-02-18 21:23:01 »
Did one-month of posts actually go missing? I can't seem to find my question about Condor minigame graphics nor the answer.

Covarr

  • Covarr-Let
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3941
  • Just Covarr. No "n".
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Bootleg Configurator and FF7 Mod Installation
« Reply #2411 on: 2013-02-18 21:51:39 »
They did indeed. Hosting issues, restored from old backup, etc. We even have a thread about it.

fillus

  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Bootleg Configurator and FF7 Mod Installation
« Reply #2412 on: 2013-02-19 17:25:03 »
Hello everyone.

I'm new to the forum and i've just started playing FF7 mod with bootleg..

I have a couple of questions for you:

1) Does the "save anytime" option works? I've selected it but still unable to save anywhere else apart from savepoints.
2) Is there any way to change few minor games details (for example the apperance of a character in battle) without having to uninstall everything and re start bootleg from scratch?

Thanks


miracle.flame

  • *
  • Posts: 164
  • ^_^
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Bootleg Configurator and FF7 Mod Installation
« Reply #2413 on: 2013-02-19 17:30:34 »
Thanks for heads up Covarr, the downtime went unnoticed for me.

Anyway if someone could give me a hand please... My minigames run too fast - especially G-Bike. I have Minigame Limiter checked in Bootloader so it seems this is not getting through for some reason. On my Graphic drivers VSync is OFF, unless application specify otherwise and in Bootloader VSync is ON. Still the bike is uncontrollably speedy. I can reduce the speed forcefully by downgrading refresh rate to 30 in bootloader (that is the nearest lower value after 60 that is acceptable in fullscreen) but in this case the whole gameplay is rather choppy, something like 15 fps. Any tips?

vashtriguner

  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
    • Vashtrigunner Youtube Channel
Re: [Tutorial] Bootleg Configurator and FF7 Mod Installation
« Reply #2414 on: 2013-02-20 13:41:10 »
Oh I get it PitBrat, like Brad Pitt. Anyways keep up the great work PitBrat! ^3^

Sahloknir74

  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Bootleg Configurator and FF7 Mod Installation
« Reply #2415 on: 2013-02-22 06:22:40 »
Hey guys, i've been unable to play FF7 with the mods installed as it crashes as soon as it starts up. I'm running the PC re-release, and there are no error messages. The screen turns black, then returns to desktop. I have had this problem before and managed to get around it, but i don't remember how, and i can't find the forum post that helped me (i don't wanna search manually through nearly 100 pages). Let me know if there is any more information i can provide to help find the cause of the problem.

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 3199
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: [Tutorial] Bootleg Configurator and FF7 Mod Installation
« Reply #2416 on: 2013-02-22 23:52:05 »
Post your app.log

Sahloknir74

  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Bootleg Configurator and FF7 Mod Installation
« Reply #2417 on: 2013-02-24 00:58:29 »
Quote
INFO: FF7/FF8 OpenGL driver version 0.7.11b
INFO: Auto-detected version: FF7 1.02 US English
INFO: NVIDIA Corporation GeForce GTX 580/PCIe/SSE2 4.3.0
INFO: OpenGL 2.0 support detected
INFO: Using PBO
INFO: Found swap_control extension
INFO: Max texture size: 16384x16384
INFO: Number of texture units: 4
INFO: Original resolution 640x480, window size 1920x1080, output resolution 1440x1080, internal resolution 1920x1440
INFO: FBO extension detected, using fast scaling/postprocessing path
INFO: Shader limits: varying 124, vert uniform 4096, frag uniform 2048
INFO: FFMpeg movie player plugin loaded
INFO: FFMpeg version SVN-r25886, Copyright (c) 2000-2010 Fabrice Bellard, et al.
INFO: FF7Music helper plugin loaded
INFO: Loading external library Multi.dll
LOCK UNLOCK TEST
MATRIX INITIALIZE
INITIALIZE DD/D3D END
ERROR: could not open file D:\Games\FF7\ff7input.cfg
initializing sound...

tifalockheart1983

  • *
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Bootleg Configurator and FF7 Mod Installation
« Reply #2418 on: 2013-02-25 18:24:28 »


Have you checked that you have pointed the ff7 config file to pick up your sound card from the look of the app log that look like the problem the game is no picking up your sound card.

Sahloknir74

  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Bootleg Configurator and FF7 Mod Installation
« Reply #2419 on: 2013-02-25 21:54:55 »
Thanks for the reply, I'm not actually sure how to do that however.

miracle.flame

  • *
  • Posts: 164
  • ^_^
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Bootleg Configurator and FF7 Mod Installation
« Reply #2420 on: 2013-02-25 21:56:59 »
Run FF7Config.exe and set your sound output

Sahloknir74

  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Bootleg Configurator and FF7 Mod Installation
« Reply #2421 on: 2013-02-25 22:04:30 »
Okay that's done, and now the game starts just fine, but the music doesn't work. I load up the game, and the world has no music playing, not in towns, or on the world map.

EDIT: Here's the new APP.LOG

Quote
INFO: FF7/FF8 OpenGL driver version 0.7.11b
INFO: Auto-detected version: FF7 1.02 US English
INFO: NVIDIA Corporation GeForce GTX 580/PCIe/SSE2 4.3.0
INFO: OpenGL 2.0 support detected
INFO: Using PBO
INFO: Found swap_control extension
INFO: Max texture size: 16384x16384
INFO: Number of texture units: 4
INFO: Original resolution 640x480, window size 1920x1080, output resolution 1440x1080, internal resolution 1920x1440
INFO: FBO extension detected, using fast scaling/postprocessing path
INFO: Shader limits: varying 124, vert uniform 4096, frag uniform 2048
INFO: FFMpeg movie player plugin loaded
INFO: FFMpeg version SVN-r25886, Copyright (c) 2000-2010 Fabrice Bellard, et al.
INFO: FF7Music helper plugin loaded
INFO: Loading external library Multi.dll
LOCK UNLOCK TEST
MATRIX INITIALIZE
INITIALIZE DD/D3D END
initializing sound...
creating dsound primary buffer
reading audio file
loading static sounds
sound initialized
set music volume: 127
set music volume: 127
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
START OF CREDITS!!!
INFO: D:\Games\FF7\movies\eidoslogo.avi; h264/aac 640x480, 15.000000 FPS, duration: 10.263000, frames: 154
set music volume trans: 127->0, step=60
END OF CREDITS!!!
Entering MAIN
set music volume: 127
Exiting MAIN
START OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
END OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
-=-=[START OF WORLD MAP!!!]=-=-
stop_sound
cross play music: 0
set music volume trans: 127->0, step=4
set music volume: 127
-=-=[END OF WORLD MAP!!!]=-=-
START OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
WM_CLOSE
END OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
Field Quit
UNINITIALIZE DD
END UNINITIALIZE DD

« Last Edit: 2013-02-25 22:06:29 by Sahloknir74 »

miracle.flame

  • *
  • Posts: 164
  • ^_^
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Bootleg Configurator and FF7 Mod Installation
« Reply #2422 on: 2013-02-25 22:15:52 »
OK now keep starting the game using Bootloader or manually run FF7Music\FF7Music.exe before actually running the game.

Sahloknir74

  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Bootleg Configurator and FF7 Mod Installation
« Reply #2423 on: 2013-02-25 22:31:33 »
Thanks! It's working properly now.

Sigmatism

  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Bootleg Configurator and FF7 Mod Installation
« Reply #2424 on: 2013-02-26 21:03:44 »
Hello everyone, I just have a question about the HQ cutscenes. Everything is working fine for me and I love it, except for the cutscenes. It still uses the original cutscenes for some reason. Any help on this?