Author Topic: [FF7PC] [7H] Enhanced Stock UI (2.0)  (Read 186544 times)

Aavock

  • *
  • Posts: 304
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] [7H] Enhanced Stock UI (2.0)
« Reply #200 on: 2021-07-01 16:55:22 »
The showstopper is that the scale is not right so wouldnt be shown accurately in the game...
Try this one: midlmap_00

It was made in a rush but shouldn't look too bad.

AuthenticM

  • *
  • Posts: 148
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] [7H] Enhanced Stock UI (2.0)
« Reply #201 on: 2021-07-02 15:17:14 »
Try this one: midlmap_00

It was made in a rush but shouldn't look too bad.

Damn, that's sweet. Thank you for contributing to this!

I'm curious about the image's resolution; it's lower than either of the other images. Was it not possible to keep the same resolution after applying some modifications to the image?

Aavock

  • *
  • Posts: 304
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] [7H] Enhanced Stock UI (2.0)
« Reply #202 on: 2021-07-02 17:15:53 »
The previous one was resized 400% compared to the original.

This one is 800% bigger than vanilla:
https://i.imgur.com/4zN6Sf8.png

Edit: Here's a massive 1600% scaled texture (for those using 8K monitors I guess):
https://i.imgur.com/5H5PDii.jpg
« Last Edit: 2021-07-02 17:31:25 by Aavock »

AuthenticM

  • *
  • Posts: 148
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] [7H] Enhanced Stock UI (2.0)
« Reply #203 on: 2021-07-02 18:47:32 »
The previous one was resized 400% compared to the original.

This one is 800% bigger than vanilla:
https://i.imgur.com/4zN6Sf8.png

Edit: Here's a massive 1600% scaled texture (for those using 8K monitors I guess):
https://i.imgur.com/5H5PDii.jpg

Sweet! Those are more like it.

In case it was missed, the darker version of the map that I posted on the previous page (link: https://i.imgur.com/2JFpt65.jpeg) is in a whopping 6849x5093 resolution, at a pretty clear image quality (few artifacts, from what I can see). I don't know how the modding process works; I just wanted to bring attention to it in case it could help you guys with your workload.

Thanks again for working on this. :)

EDIT:
Oh, for my curiosity again, could you tell me why the maps linked in your post have a lot of white space around them? Is that something that the FF7 engine requires for the mod to work?
« Last Edit: 2021-07-02 18:49:56 by AuthenticM »

Aavock

  • *
  • Posts: 304
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] [7H] Enhanced Stock UI (2.0)
« Reply #204 on: 2021-07-02 19:24:43 »
In case it was missed, the darker version of the map that I posted on the previous page (link: https://i.imgur.com/2JFpt65.jpeg) is in a whopping 6849x5093 resolution, at a pretty clear image quality (few artifacts, from what I can see).
Trust me, you won't see any clear improvement compared to the 1600% scaled version.

Oh, for my curiosity again, could you tell me why the maps linked in your post have a lot of white space around them? Is that something that the FF7 engine requires for the mod to work?
This is how the game reads the texture yes.

Glad you like it!

Edit: 1600% version with more vibrant colors and sharpened details:
https://www.sendspace.com/file/m8zt65 (imgur is not accepting big *.png files)
« Last Edit: 2021-07-02 21:55:12 by Aavock »

AuthenticM

  • *
  • Posts: 148
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] [7H] Enhanced Stock UI (2.0)
« Reply #205 on: 2021-07-02 22:31:56 »
Edit: 1600% version with more vibrant colors and sharpened details:
https://www.sendspace.com/file/m8zt65 (imgur is not accepting big *.png files)

oh wow this is much better than the previous jpg! Nice.

Hopefully you guys are able to make it work properly in the game. It's a really sweet map.

Aavock

  • *
  • Posts: 304
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] [7H] Enhanced Stock UI (2.0)
« Reply #206 on: 2021-07-03 06:50:53 »
Not a fan but for those interested, this is how it looks:

AuthenticM

  • *
  • Posts: 148
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] [7H] Enhanced Stock UI (2.0)
« Reply #207 on: 2021-07-03 19:49:17 »
Not a fan but for those interested, this is how it looks:


I like it! What about it do you not like?

Would it be possible to make the map opaque instead of transparent? Usually, the big map isn't used by players while they move around, so having it be opaque wouldn't be a hindrance of any sort. I'm thinking that it might look better if it were opaque. What do you think?

Aavock

  • *
  • Posts: 304
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] [7H] Enhanced Stock UI (2.0)
« Reply #208 on: 2021-07-03 20:40:53 »
Would it be possible to make the map opaque instead of transparent?
In order to make it opaque you'll have to hex edit; maybe Chrysalis can help you.

laharl9

  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] [7H] Enhanced Stock UI (2.0)
« Reply #209 on: 2021-07-20 13:39:26 »
Hey Chrysalis, there is 1 problem I wanna ask you
I don't know why whenever I turn on with FF 7 Remake ESUI Theme with Enchance Stock UI - rel2
However the FF 7 Remake ESUI Theme only work at the START SCREEN and the other doesn't seem work
it keep show Enchance Stock UI - rel2 to me no matter how I deactivate or activate it
so what is the problem??could I be miss download mod?
217674062-10160769255829918-7960042652946095120-n" border="0

217134194-10160769255534918-7404796211769928202-n" border="0

216975098-10160769255479918-1993303815407089829-n" border="0

EDIT : oh yes ! I finally make it work because I just need to download the Enchance Stock UI from here that you posted not the one from 7th Heaven
Thank you very much for your mod
« Last Edit: 2021-07-21 11:49:28 by laharl9 »

Fewtch

  • *
  • Posts: 78
  • All good things in time
    • View Profile
    • ArtStation
Re: [FF7PC] [7H] Enhanced Stock UI (2.0)
« Reply #210 on: 2021-07-25 21:22:39 »
there is 1 problem I wanna ask you

You have to sort your mod load order, you have everything jumbled together. In 7H thats the 1^V9 button on the right hand side

Chrysalis

  • ESUI Developer
  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 414
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] [7H] Enhanced Stock UI (2.0)
« Reply #211 on: 2021-08-18 00:34:41 »
Damn, that's a bummer.

If you intend on taking your time to make the map work, I say to you godspeed and thank you!

Do you want me to get in contact with the author of the map? I could tell her to get in contact with you so you could talk about this issue. Perhaps she'd be willing to help or contribute. Though do you have her twitter, so perhaps you don't need me as a middle-man.

Let me know!


I still have her twitter, and yep will contact her to see the best way forward.

Chrysalis

  • ESUI Developer
  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 414
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] [7H] Enhanced Stock UI (2.0)
« Reply #212 on: 2021-08-18 00:36:23 »
Try this one: midlmap_00

It was made in a rush but shouldn't look too bad.


Thank you I can give it a try, are you happy for this to be part of ESUI? you would be credited of course.

Aavock

  • *
  • Posts: 304
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] [7H] Enhanced Stock UI (2.0)
« Reply #213 on: 2021-08-18 20:04:32 »
Thank you I can give it a try, are you happy for this to be part of ESUI? you would be credited of course.
No worries, it was a half an hour task. My only real contributions for the community is my UI 1:1Remastered where I've spent hundreds of hours.

You should instead credit the original author "Ahvia" if I remember correctly.

S0ME0NE

  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] [7H] Enhanced Stock UI (2.0)
« Reply #214 on: 2021-08-19 05:13:08 »
So I'm having this issue where the User Interface - Qhimm Catalog 7th heaven mod just doesn't seem to work even though I have it activated? I've tried the ESUI mod from the 7th heave catalog as well and it doesn't seem to work. Anyone have any reason why it would just refuse to work even though it's activated and other mods work fine?

Chrysalis

  • ESUI Developer
  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 414
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] [7H] Enhanced Stock UI (2.0)
« Reply #215 on: 2021-08-20 02:02:41 »
No worries, it was a half an hour task. My only real contributions for the community is my UI 1:1Remastered where I've spent hundreds of hours.

You should instead credit the original author "Ahvia" if I remember correctly.


The offer was in addition to her, but thanks for rescaling the image.

Chrysalis

  • ESUI Developer
  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 414
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] [7H] Enhanced Stock UI (2.0)
« Reply #216 on: 2021-08-20 02:04:51 »
So I'm having this issue where the User Interface - Qhimm Catalog 7th heaven mod just doesn't seem to work even though I have it activated? I've tried the ESUI mod from the 7th heave catalog as well and it doesn't seem to work. Anyone have any reason why it would just refuse to work even though it's activated and other mods work fine?


The mod does two things, it loads textures into the UI, and it also loads hext code to modify the game code to move UI elements around.


Are you able to post a screenshot of the new game/continue screen with the mod enabled please.


Dont enable this and the user interface menu option at the same time.

L@Zar0

  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] [7H] Enhanced Stock UI (2.0)
« Reply #217 on: 2021-08-29 17:20:55 »
I only pass by to say Thanks a lot for ESUI mod! There is a lot of info very difficult to find in other way.

I wanted to comment only a little thing. I was thinking in "separate" (but without luck), battle UI from menu/field/world UI. With this I pretend to be able to use a different frame for the boxes between both, and even background colors.

About the colors background I can do something with the Help/Status box in battle (the top and middle little boxes).  But the left/right boxes (the ones with companion names and commands) is a bit more difficult, I had searched the .exe, but it seems to share the values of the menu ones if I'm not mistaken.

BUT, I had the hope to be able to use a different palette for (btl_win_c_l.png), and use, for example, btl_win_c_l_01.png in battle UI. This would permit to use a different frame of the menu one. I think that this is not possible without changing ff7.exe code.

Anyway, I had not luck either searching for the place where this could be achieved. :( Hope some day we can have different (and good) UI for menu/battle.

Chrysalis

  • ESUI Developer
  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 414
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] [7H] Enhanced Stock UI (2.0)
« Reply #218 on: 2021-08-29 22:55:59 »
I only pass by to say Thanks a lot for ESUI mod! There is a lot of info very difficult to find in other way.

I wanted to comment only a little thing. I was thinking in "separate" (but without luck), battle UI from menu/field/world UI. With this I pretend to be able to use a different frame for the boxes between both, and even background colors.

About the colors background I can do something with the Help/Status box in battle (the top and middle little boxes).  But the left/right boxes (the ones with companion names and commands) is a bit more difficult, I had searched the .exe, but it seems to share the values of the menu ones if I'm not mistaken.

BUT, I had the hope to be able to use a different palette for (btl_win_c_l.png), and use, for example, btl_win_c_l_01.png in battle UI. This would permit to use a different frame of the menu one. I think that this is not possible without changing ff7.exe code.

Anyway, I had not luck either searching for the place where this could be achieved. :( Hope some day we can have different (and good) UI for menu/battle.


Thanks for your kind words L@Zar0


This might be possible, as I see there is already a palette assigned for the box borders, I will search the code sometime this week to see if I can get the memory addresses for you.

L@Zar0

  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] [7H] Enhanced Stock UI (2.0)
« Reply #219 on: 2021-09-02 08:17:11 »
Ok thank you very much!

I tried to find it, but the place of the offset of the frames for battle UI is a bit difficult to find for me. :(

I'm not sure if it is even possible, because making a trace log of FFNx it seems to load btl_win at the beginning of the game, and then, when the game enters in battle scene, it seems to load something... different.

This is when the game loads:
Code: [Select]
[00000099] TRACE: Renderer::createTexture: 60 => 51594840x51594844 from filename C:\Games\Final Fantasy VII/mods/textures/menu/btl_win_a_l_00.dds
[00000099] TRACE: Using texture: C:\Games\Final Fantasy VII/mods/textures/menu/btl_win_a_l_00.dds
[00000099] TRACE: Created external texture: 60 from C:\Games\Final Fantasy VII/mods/textures/menu/btl_win_a_l_00.dds

This is when battle begins:
Code: [Select]
[00001111] TRACE: gl_defer_sorted_draw: call with primitivetype: 4 - vertextype: 3 - vertexcount: 32 - count: 48 - clip: 1 - mipmap: 1
[00001111] TRACE: gl_defer_sorted_draw: texture_set true for texture menu/btl_win_c_l0
[00001111] TRACE: gl_defer_sorted_draw: return true

So it does (or FFNx is doing) something different. I searched this to use in 7H a Runtime Var telling when it enters in battle use a different btl_win_c_l, but I have not good results with this.

Another thing I found is to change the colors/alpha of the background of the Help/Status boxes:


This is the code:
Code: [Select]
http://BATTLE MENU
# Help Support -Middle- & Message -Up- Windows Top Left/Right/Top/Bottom Colors
#.text:006D4EF7                 mov     ecx, dword_91EFC8
6D4EF7 = B9 00 00 00 7F 90
#.text:006D4F7F                 mov     ecx, dword_91EFCC
6D4F7F = B9 00 00 00 7F 90
#.text:006D5007                 mov     ecx, dword_91EFD0
6D5007 = B9 00 00 00 7F 90
#.text:006D50A2                 mov     edx, dword_91EFD4
6D50A2 = BA 00 00 00 7F 90

Altough I researched this also for the rest of Battle UI (searched for 0x91EFC8), the only place that I could modify this with any result, it changed only the background for the rest of UI, even the menu UI, leaving it in black color, of course.

So, if we could find a method to change btl_win_cl and background colors for Battle UI, we could have a different Battle UI from Menu UI. :)
« Last Edit: 2021-09-02 08:38:46 by L@Zar0 »

Chrysalis

  • ESUI Developer
  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 414
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] [7H] Enhanced Stock UI (2.0)
« Reply #220 on: 2021-09-04 18:39:23 »
There is a palette number assigned to the box borders but it is not used in the normal way so I jumped the gun a bit when I said it shouldnt be too difficult.  Usually once I know how to align a UI asset its very easy to find how to change the palette id it uses, but I have never known the way to specifically align box borders to the window itself.


I however have found a way to make the battles attempt to load a different texture for the borders, and for battles only, the problem is the driver doesnt expect it and from what I can tell the driver doesnt try to load png or dds so it needs some more time spent on it or for cosmo/trueodin to add support for the method I found (change the texture name rather than the palette).


Also I can tell you that the border textures are loaded (or attempted to load) once at battle start, every battle start but not after that during battle.  If the hext value is changed it takes affect on the next battle so its not just checked at start of the game.
« Last Edit: 2021-09-04 18:45:48 by Chrysalis »

Chrysalis

  • ESUI Developer
  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 414
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] [7H] Enhanced Stock UI (2.0)
« Reply #221 on: 2021-09-04 18:42:44 »
I like it! What about it do you not like?

Would it be possible to make the map opaque instead of transparent? Usually, the big map isn't used by players while they move around, so having it be opaque wouldn't be a hindrance of any sort. I'm thinking that it might look better if it were opaque. What do you think?


I have added the rescaled map into a test build and will post a link in the next few days, but I currently do not know the opcode for changing the world map transparency, it probably would be better disabled or with reduced intensity so I may look into it soon.

L@Zar0

  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] [7H] Enhanced Stock UI (2.0)
« Reply #222 on: 2021-09-05 13:50:38 »
There is a palette number assigned to the box borders but it is not used in the normal way so I jumped the gun a bit when I said it shouldnt be too difficult.  Usually once I know how to align a UI asset its very easy to find how to change the palette id it uses, but I have never known the way to specifically align box borders to the window itself.


I however have found a way to make the battles attempt to load a different texture for the borders, and for battles only, the problem is the driver doesnt expect it and from what I can tell the driver doesnt try to load png or dds so it needs some more time spent on it or for cosmo/trueodin to add support for the method I found (change the texture name rather than the palette).


Also I can tell you that the border textures are loaded (or attempted to load) once at battle start, every battle start but not after that during battle.  If the hext value is changed it takes affect on the next battle so its not just checked at start of the game.
Ok, thanks for check. It seems both have arrived to the same conclusion more or less.

So, we should try to find (or TO implements it) in the driver, the possibility to load another texture, or it will require a very complex ASM coding in the .exe to make it work. Maybe there is another solution, but we must should follow the code.

Right now I think we have done enough checking this.

Thanks again.

Chrysalis

  • ESUI Developer
  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 414
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] [7H] Enhanced Stock UI (2.0)
« Reply #223 on: 2021-09-06 20:32:03 »
You can try conditional load in 7th heaven, but with my testing I couldn't get it to work.


See the documentation here.



https://7thheaven.rocks/help/modhelp.html#conditionalfolders


A byte I found that changes depending on if you in battle is 0xCBF9DC, should be 2 when in battle or some other value if not.
« Last Edit: 2021-09-06 20:34:03 by Chrysalis »

L@Zar0

  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] [7H] Enhanced Stock UI (2.0)
« Reply #224 on: 2021-09-08 18:40:48 »
A byte I found that changes depending on if you in battle is 0xCBF9DC, should be 2 when in battle or some other value if not.
Yep. I found that byte also, 0x2 and 0x17 (BATTLE and SWIRL I think), but it did not help to me either when testing. I assume this is the part that should be coded in FFNx, because if not, it get default btl_win_c_l_00.dds.

This is what does the "gl_defer_sorted_draw" call that I don't know what it does exactly.

I did a RuntimeVar including both values, but it did not help.
« Last Edit: 2021-09-08 18:43:19 by L@Zar0 »