Author Topic: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Smoother 60FPS Battles (v0.95)  (Read 255593 times)

blueknavish

  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Smoother 60FPS Battles (v0.93)
« Reply #250 on: 2014-11-27 01:20:53 »
Is it possible to install  your 60 fps mod and keeping my 'bootleg graphical overhaul' of the game( char and fields ) ?

Yes. I was wondering the EXACT same thing.

obesebear, will 60 fps work when the game is rendered at 2560 x 1440, or only 1080p?

blueknavish

  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Smoother 60FPS Battles (v0.93)
« Reply #251 on: 2014-11-27 01:27:12 »
Just read that summons are broken. How broken are they? Are they worse than default?

Hellbringer616

  • *
  • Posts: 1913
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Smoother 60FPS Battles (v0.93)
« Reply #252 on: 2014-11-27 13:21:38 »
Yes. I was wondering the EXACT same thing.

obesebear, will 60 fps work when the game is rendered at 2560 x 1440, or only 1080p?

He can correct me if I'm wrong, But that's hardware dependent. the higher the resolution and framerate, the more your GPU is taxed.

This is pure speculation. But if you have a monitor like that, I'm gonna guess you have the hardware to push modern games out with at least 30fps. So you'll play FF7 just fine.

obesebear

  • *
  • Posts: 1386
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Smoother 60FPS Battles (v0.93)
« Reply #253 on: 2014-11-27 13:29:32 »
obesebear, will 60 fps work when the game is rendered at 2560 x 1440, or only 1080p?
It will work at all possible resolutions.  The only hiccups you may see are from the game's limiter not working correctly.  So instead of exactly 60fps you may only get 57 or 58fps.  The game has ALWAYS had this problem, but there's nothing we can do about it at this point.

Just read that summons are broken. How broken are they? Are they worse than default?
The summons still work and will cause damage to the enemies like always.  However, I would suggest closing your eyes during the summon, because the screen is going to flash from the battle ground to the summon animation VERY rapidly back and forth.


While I'm here, NFITC1 or DLPB, any idea why sometimes in battle certain textures won't load?  The main one I've tested is against the Custom Sweeper.  Sometimes when it or Barrett attacks the muzzle flash and spent shells don't appear, but I can reload the save and play the exact same fight again and they'll work.  If it works, it works the rest of the battle, if they fail to load, they won't work the rest of that battle.   Seems to almost be a 50/50 chance.
« Last Edit: 2014-11-27 13:36:48 by obesebear »

blueknavish

  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Smoother 60FPS Battles (v0.93)
« Reply #254 on: 2014-11-27 13:59:39 »
Great, it will work then for me at high res.

Haha. Bummer that summons are completely broke. What is the technical limitation? I'm not too smart with programming but I can help you test some new fixes if you have them or anything else you want to experiment on in regards to 60 fps. Let me know how I can help.


obesebear

  • *
  • Posts: 1386
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Smoother 60FPS Battles (v0.93)
« Reply #255 on: 2014-11-27 23:57:01 »
Testing is pretty much done at this point.  The only thing we could really use is more programmers.

nfitc1

  • *
  • Posts: 2981
  • I just don't know what went wrong.
    • View Profile
    • WM/PrC Blog
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Smoother 60FPS Battles (v0.93)
« Reply #256 on: 2014-11-28 00:07:57 »
While I'm here, NFITC1 or DLPB, any idea why sometimes in battle certain textures won't load?  The main one I've tested is against the Custom Sweeper.  Sometimes when it or Barrett attacks the muzzle flash and spent shells don't appear, but I can reload the save and play the exact same fight again and they'll work.  If it works, it works the rest of the battle, if they fail to load, they won't work the rest of that battle.   Seems to almost be a 50/50 chance.

That's an animation script thing, remember? I can sort of fix that, but I don't know why it only sometimes works.

blueknavish

  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Smoother 60FPS Battles (v0.93)
« Reply #257 on: 2014-11-28 09:09:43 »
Has anyone tried seeing what summons look like at 30 fps? i believe the ps1 battles scenes were 30 fps. what about getting the game to 30 fps instead of 60 fps as a compromise? At least this way everything will be working the same as the console. 30 fps looks way better than 15 fps in battle. i understand that the ultimate goal is 60 fps but now I'm curious.

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11008
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Smoother 60FPS Battles (v0.93)
« Reply #258 on: 2014-11-28 09:43:30 »
No.  The ps1 battle (animations, 2d/3d effects etc) was 15 unique frames a second, duplicated 3 times to be 60 frames. The only thing in PSX that is true 60fps is the battle menu. The camera is 30 unique frames in PSX.
« Last Edit: 2014-11-28 09:45:02 by DLPB »

obesebear

  • *
  • Posts: 1386
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Smoother 60FPS Battles (v0.93)
« Reply #259 on: 2014-11-28 13:50:36 »
That's an animation script thing, remember? I can sort of fix that, but I don't know why it only sometimes works.
Ha, nope I don't remember discussing it.  You'll have to bear with me if every month or so I pop back in and ask the same questions over an over.   I've been brute forcing a lot of school information in, and as a result I think some other things have gotten shoved out.

Has anyone tried seeing what summons look like at 30 fps? i believe the ps1 battles scenes were 30 fps. what about getting the game to 30 fps instead of 60 fps as a compromise? At least this way everything will be working the same as the console. 30 fps looks way better than 15 fps in battle. i understand that the ultimate goal is 60 fps but now I'm curious.
As for 30fps, there's no need.  The difficulty in making 30fps work is basically the same as 60.  But if you're looking for how the game originally ran on PSX without the smoother battle animations, you should check DLPB's thread.  Its title is pretty similar to this one.

blueknavish

  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Smoother 60FPS Battles (v0.93)
« Reply #260 on: 2014-11-28 15:10:38 »
Haha. I tried it with other mods and my game is running in slow motion.  :)

Anyways, for what it's worth, installation instructions are way too confusing for the average gamer person and the amount of work required to patch the game will be daunting for most. I can't wait to see everything streamlined.

When I launched HextLaunch.exe, an error appeared: "You have an error in your config file, some options may have been parsed. (no such option 'battleswirl_framerate')

obesebear

  • *
  • Posts: 1386
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Smoother 60FPS Battles (v0.93)
« Reply #261 on: 2014-11-28 16:08:28 »
Haha. I tried it with other mods and my game is running in slow motion.  :)

Anyways, for what it's worth, installation instructions are way too confusing for the average gamer person and the amount of work required to patch the game will be daunting for most. I can't wait to see everything streamlined.

When I launched HextLaunch.exe, an error appeared: "You have an error in your config file, some options may have been parsed. (no such option 'battleswirl_framerate')
I can't simplify the installation instructions any more than they already are, unfortunately.   As for your hextlaunch error, you'll need to double check step 1 of the instructions, this only works on v .8 and higher.

Xpred

  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Smoother 60FPS Battles (v0.93)
« Reply #262 on: 2014-11-30 13:40:58 »
Ha, nope I don't remember discussing it.  You'll have to bear with me if every month or so I pop back in and ask the same questions over an over.   I've been brute forcing a lot of school information in, and as a result I think some other things have gotten shoved out.
As for 30fps, there's no need.  The difficulty in making 30fps work is basically the same as 60.  But if you're looking for how the game originally ran on PSX without the smoother battle animations, you should check DLPB's thread.  Its title is pretty similar to this one.

Would there be an option to choose your FPS option? Say for those who prefer 30 vs 60 for in-game battles. Although 60 does look super smooth from the vids, I think I would prefer something a little over the normal 15 fps, but not quite to the extent of 60, i.e., a 30 fps option would be definitely nice if you could choose.

obesebear

  • *
  • Posts: 1386
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Smoother 60FPS Battles (v0.93)
« Reply #263 on: 2014-11-30 14:41:52 »
Would there be an option to choose your FPS option? Say for those who prefer 30 vs 60 for in-game battles. Although 60 does look super smooth from the vids, I think I would prefer something a little over the normal 15 fps, but not quite to the extent of 60, i.e., a 30 fps option would be definitely nice if you could choose.
I don't think I'll ever understand the people who want fewer fps, but yes it would be possible.   All the code that's been modified would need to be halved. Someone would then need to interpolate the original model animations only one time and then fix the hundreds of errors it produces (or go through and delete every other frame of each animation of the ones I did).  Then you could have 30fps

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11008
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Smoother 60FPS Battles (v0.93)
« Reply #264 on: 2014-11-30 17:47:12 »
I don't think I'll ever understand the people who want fewer fps, but yes it would be possible.   All the code that's been modified would need to be halved. Someone would then need to interpolate the original model animations only one time and then fix the hundreds of errors it produces (or go through and delete every other frame of each animation of the ones I did).  Then you could have 30fps

Having 30fps for battle is as broken as 15.  Because the menu has to be 60 for the slots to work correctly. I'm not talking about graphically either, I mean also programmatically.  If you have 8 frames between slots, you have 8 frames in which to press a button and get the correct item.  At 30fps, you are now at a 100% disadvantage. Choosing slots is now 2x harder than it was on PSX, and was designed to be.  30fps battles defeats the whole purpose. 
« Last Edit: 2014-11-30 19:55:10 by DLPB »

obesebear

  • *
  • Posts: 1386
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Smoother 60FPS Battles (v0.93)
« Reply #265 on: 2014-11-30 19:30:36 »
I took him to mean just the models.

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11008
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Smoother 60FPS Battles (v0.93)
« Reply #266 on: 2014-11-30 19:54:44 »
I took him to mean just the models.

Ah well, I was quoting you but aiming my response at him :P

blueknavish

  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Smoother 60FPS Battles (v0.93)
« Reply #267 on: 2014-12-05 14:39:47 »
Quote
As for 30fps, there's no need.  The difficulty in making 30fps work is basically the same as 60.  But if you're looking for how the game originally ran on PSX without the smoother battle animations, you should check DLPB's thread.  Its title is pretty similar to this one.

Alright. I'll check it out.

It's this thread if anyone else wants to give it a shot: http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=15403.0


rgmarks

  • *
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Smoother 60FPS Battles (v0.93)
« Reply #268 on: 2014-12-17 17:08:30 »
Really nice mod, but no way to fix the summons problem:?

obesebear

  • *
  • Posts: 1386
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Smoother 60FPS Battles (v0.93)
« Reply #269 on: 2014-12-19 15:31:36 »
Really nice mod, but no way to fix the summons problem:?
Yes, there is.  But too few people understand how to do it and it would be extremely time consuming as is.

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11008
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Smoother 60FPS Battles (v0.93)
« Reply #270 on: 2015-02-19 22:20:10 »
NFITC1.... I am not sure what your summons looked like (I always assumed they just flickered like mine used to).  Do you have a video?

edit.

Well, not essential.  Looking at your code, your problem is likely to be related to mine but by using a different approach it isn't the exactly the same.
« Last Edit: 2015-02-19 22:23:45 by DLPB »

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11008
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Smoother 60FPS Battles (v0.93)
« Reply #271 on: 2015-02-20 15:52:21 »
There's also a bug with Tifa's slots that you'll need to correct:

006E329B = 83 E1 03             
006E329E = 8D 94 CA 44 01 00 00

or just
006E329B = 83 E1 03 8D 94 CA 44 01 00 00

Dziugo fixed this.  Good job I went back and read what he wrote to me.
« Last Edit: 2015-02-20 15:54:47 by DLPB »

nfitc1

  • *
  • Posts: 2981
  • I just don't know what went wrong.
    • View Profile
    • WM/PrC Blog
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Smoother 60FPS Battles (v0.93)
« Reply #272 on: 2015-02-20 17:24:48 »
NFITC1.... I am not sure what your summons looked like (I always assumed they just flickered like mine used to).  Do you have a video?
No. I'm not sure it would make sense to anyone because I don't actually have my battles running at 60fps although it would make sense for them too. I'm trying to keep as few modifications from the original as possible to make sure I've got 'clean' changes.

EDIT:
OK, I've made a video of what it's doing now.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gIRTsfV5Wds

If you watch to the end you'll notice that when paused, the frame does draw and stay valid. Something that happens while running that invalidates all the 3D actors each frame. I've just got to prevent that from happening on actor 3 and the problem might go away.
« Last Edit: 2015-02-20 17:49:59 by NFITC1 »

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11008
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Smoother 60FPS Battles (v0.93)
« Reply #273 on: 2015-02-20 18:02:55 »
No. I'm not sure it would make sense to anyone because I don't actually have my battles running at 60fps although it would make sense for them too. I'm trying to keep as few modifications from the original as possible to make sure I've got 'clean' changes.

EDIT:
OK, I've made a video of what it's doing now.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gIRTsfV5Wds

If you watch to the end you'll notice that when paused, the frame does draw and stay valid. Something that happens while running that invalidates all the 3D actors each frame. I've just got to prevent that from happening on actor 3 and the problem might go away.

Then use the 2 pause addresses to zero in on it.  Nop the jumps.

00DC0E70: Not this one.  This one shouldn't be affecting any of that. Pause = 1

00DC0E6C: This one is used by magics A LOT, and narrowing it down may be a hassle.  Pause = 1

009AD1AC : I'd start nopping jumps after this one and see what happens. Pause = 0

If pausing means it stays drawn and unpausing means it doesn't then you should be able to nop the jumps and find out which is affecting the situartion?

nfitc1

  • *
  • Posts: 2981
  • I just don't know what went wrong.
    • View Profile
    • WM/PrC Blog
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Smoother 60FPS Battles (v0.93)
« Reply #274 on: 2015-02-20 18:26:30 »
If pausing means it stays drawn and unpausing means it doesn't then you should be able to nop the jumps and find out which is affecting the situartion?
That seems to be the prevailing theory. I only just discovered this while making the video, however.