Author Topic: Black screen then goes back to desktop  (Read 2226 times)

TheOmegaFactor

  • *
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Black screen then goes back to desktop
« on: 2019-02-17 04:59:49 »
so I did everything right to my knowledge but when I click launch game, it goes to a black screen then crashes to desktop with no dialog box or error message or anything
the FAQ says to set the sound device to the correct one and that will fix it. well it doesn't.  the same thing keeps happening.
that's if i try to launch via the manager. if i launch via the ff7_bc/mo.exe i DO get an error. i get postprocessing initialization failed. check app.log for more details.
Spoiler: show

[00000000] INFO: FF7/FF8 OpenGL driver version 0.8.1b
[00000000] INFO: Auto-detected version: FF7 1.02 US English
[00000000] INFO: NVIDIA Corporation GeForce GTX 1070/PCIe/SSE2 4.6.0 NVIDIA 418.81
[00000000] INFO: OpenGL 2.0 support detected
[00000000] INFO: Using PBO
[00000000] INFO: Found swap_control extension
[00000000] INFO: Max texture size: 32768x32768
[00000000] INFO: Original resolution 640x480, window size 1920x1080, output resolution 1920x1080, internal resolution 3840x2160
[00000000] INFO: Shader limits: varying 124, vert uniform 4096, frag uniform 4096
[00000000] ERROR: failed to stat file D:\SteamLibrary\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\/shaders/All_SmartShader2/SmartShaderPost.fx
[00000000] ERROR: init_postprocessing failed, postprocessing will be disabled
[00000000] INFO: FFMpeg movie player plugin loaded
[00000000] INFO: FFMpeg version SVN-r25886, Copyright (c) 2000-2010 Fabrice Bellard, et al.
[00000000] INFO: FF7Music helper plugin loaded
[00000000] INFO: Loading external library Multi.dll
[00000000] LOCK UNLOCK TEST
[00000001] MATRIX INITIALIZE
[00000001] INITIALIZE DD/D3D END
[00000001] initializing sound...
[00000001] creating dsound primary buffer
[00000001] reading audio file
[00000001] loading static sounds
[00000001] sound initialized
[00000001] set music volume: 127
[00000001] set music volume: 127
[00000001] Entering MAIN
[00000001] Exiting MAIN
[00000001] START OF CREDITS!!!
[00000001] INFO: D:\SteamLibrary\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\movies\eidoslogo.avi; vp8/vorbis 1280x960, 30.000000 FPS, duration: 11.133000, frames: 334
[00000081] set music volume trans: 127->0, step=60
[00000146] END OF CREDITS!!!
[00000146] Entering MAIN
[00000146] set music volume: 127
[00000146] Exiting MAIN
[00000146] START OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
[00000371] WM_CLOSE
[00000371] END OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
[00000371] Field Quit
[00000371] UNINITIALIZE DD

i've uninstalled FF7, deleted the reg keys, deleted my mods and redid EVERYTHING. NOTHING helps
I've tried disabling postprocessing. didn't help
nothing I do works.
every single time I try to launch the game via the Manager, the screen goes black for a moment then goes back to windows
i'm unsure what to do. help?
here's my load order as well
Spoiler: show

Miscellaneous - Jessie Mod
ID: 1e2e93b2-5e26-4364-9b00-d316c618813b
Version: 2.3

Miscellaneous - Team Avalanche Fields
ID: 72152e09-7b5c-4942-8465-afa154e20b08
Version: 2.0
field_ta = 1

Battle Models - Weapons
ID: fe92e17c-f60d-4cf5-9c79-889f93d1edcb
Version: 2.1
weapons_aerith = 3
weapons_caitsith = 1
weapons_cloud = 1
weapons_sephiroth = 1
weapons_yuffie = 1

Field Models - Objects
ID: 7f1274cf-3bf8-4ae6-a722-d2f374c902fc
Version: 2.1
huge_materia = 1
materia = 2
potions = 2
save_point = 1

Animations
ID: 653bb2b6-3999-4bb0-bc21-2ae299bb7b87
Version: 2.1
f_animation = 0
w_animation = 1
60fps = 1
fba = 0
fbn = 0
fed = 1
fs = 0

Battle Models - Characters
ID: 1917178d-5ef1-42e2-9c5c-58045588b3f4
Version: 2.1
models_aerith = 1
models_barret = 5
models_caitsith = 1
models_cid = 1
models_cloud = 5
models_redxiii = 1
models_sephiroth = 1
models_tifa = 1
models_vincent = 3
models_yuffie = 1

Battle Models - Enemies
ID: 267ef1d2-599c-4f4d-860c-b838f402c587
Version: 2.1
models_diamond = 1
models_frogs = 1
models_scorpion = 1
models_jenova = 1
models_joker = 1
models_life_form = 1
models_motorball = 1
models_ruby = 3
models_soldiers = 1
models_sweeper = 1

Battle Textures
ID: ad83c8b5-249d-41f9-84a4-cd35200da6af
Version: 2.0
battle_bg = 2

Field Models - Main Characters
ID: efe1b0ec-6ce3-43f7-9659-f1bc9d36f60c
Version: 2.2
models_aerith = 3
models_barret = 6
models_caitsith = 2
models_cid = 1
models_cloud = 2
models_redxiii = 1
models_sephiroth = 2
models_tifa = 2
models_vincent = 4
models_yuffie = 2

Field Models - Non-Player Characters
ID: d329bc05-3dc0-4f35-94aa-632986f47194
Version: 2.34
models_base = 2
models_biggs = 2
models_jessie = 2
models_wedge = 2

Field Textures - yarLson
ID: 339ca282-645f-4053-83d1-de8777f8b1bc
Version: 2.3
field_bg = 1

Gameplay - Difficulty and Story
ID: af709876-588e-4865-84e3-0ac0bd662fb2
Version: 2.391
gameplay = 10

Gameplay - Tweaks and Cheats
ID: 3dbdfa3b-d97f-4cfc-9db8-223dbe0152bc
Version: 2.2
ar = 1
cf = 0
dm = 0
isl = 1
i = 0
li = 1
lcs = 1
lt = 1
nrb = 0
spa = 1
sc = 1
sbo = 1

Media - Movies
ID: 4f61f4cf-6733-4503-93f4-ed7fdfee21a6
Version: 2.1
movie = 2

Media - Music and Sound
ID: 2bdd4a94-4b06-46ca-af0a-37b9dfef25aa
Version: 2.1
music = 4
sound = 1

Menu - Avatars and Backdrops
ID: aec06415-0f12-410b-ac43-f4e89e363729
Version: 2.1
avatars_aerith = 1
avatars_barret = 1
avatars_cait_sith = 1
avatars_chocobo = 1
avatars_cid = 1
avatars_cloud = 1
avatars_cloud_young = 1
avatars_red_xiii = 1
avatars_sephiroth = 1
avatars_tifa = 1
avatars_vincent = 1
avatars_yuffie = 1
game_over = 1
prelude = 1
start_menu = 8

Minigames Collection
ID: ee718ab3-0aa5-43b2-b7bc-82c69fcd19d0
Version: 2.31
chocobo_models = 1
condor_models = 1
motorbike_models = 1
chocobo_textures = 1
coaster_textures = 1
condor_textures = 1
motorbike_textures = 1
snowboard_textures = 1
wonder_square = 1

Spell Textures
ID: b97373a2-aa9f-40e3-9a3d-aeaa846391d4
Version: 2.1
magic = 2
coin = 18
limit = 9

The Reunion - Beacause and Menu Overhaul
ID: 3ee8d570-ac8b-471e-ad3f-53de21248652
Version: 2.1
beacause = 1
menu = 1
break = 1
hand = 0
nbb = 0
ncb = 0

World Models - Characters
ID: a5b9a2f3-c9e3-4cbb-947a-1489ebeeb921
Version: 2.1
cid_world = 1
cloud_world = 2
tifa_world = 2

World Models - Enemies
ID: 0d0cc481-4cc3-4e7e-9529-fa7077b38615
Version: 2.0
diamond = 1
emerald = 1
ruby = 1
ultima = 1

World Models - Vehicles
ID: 0e056cf4-7b37-49e1-aa9e-c57bc73db954
Version: 2.0
buggy = 2
chocobo = 1
highwind = 1
submarine = 2
tiny_bronco = 1

World Textures
ID: 35e0906d-7da4-4da2-b10d-87149d291a38
Version: 2.0
world_bg = 3


Also, i can't get my shader options choice to "stick"
i'll chose Nvidia Complex multi shader for example, click ok, go back to find the box is blank again.
this can't be normal can it?

EDIT: ok so i swapped to an earlier version of 7th heaven and got it MOSTLY working.
but i can't use animation OR the Reunion - Because and menu overhaul
i saw in a previous thread i'm not the only one that has this issue.
i get  the "something went seriously wrong" error
not sure why those two mods don't work but it's definitely them.

EDIT 2: ok nevermind...this is getting really dumb.
i had it working till i got to the point of the opening bombing mission
then as soon as i was able to control cloud, "something has gone seriously wrong" error pops up and i have to close the game!
what's going on here? i REALLY wanna play FFVII with these mods, but as of now i can't
i've uninstalled everything and then redid everything like 6 or 7x now
i'm at my wits end!
HELP  PLEASE!! T_T

FINAL EDIT: well. i hope i'm not jinxing myself here BUT the phrase, "if at first you don't succeed, try try again" holds true here!
i got the damn thing working!
SO if anyone has all these issues that i'm having here's what i noticed that was off!
double and triple check your paths!!!!!!
i'm assuming due to a bug of sorts or maybe it was something i did idk BUT
MAKE SURE ALL 4 READ AS FOLLOWED:
D:\SteamLibrary\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\mods\7H\
D:\SteamLibrary\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\ff7.exe
D:\SteamLibrary\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\movies\
D:\SteamLibrary\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\mods\Textures\

replace D for your Drive letter obviously.
somehow, someway, i got it looking like:
D:\SteamLibrary\\steamapps\common\FINAL\\FANTASY VII\mods\7H\
D:\SteamLibrary\\steamapps\common\FINAL\\ FANTASY VII\ff7.exe
D:\SteamLibrary\\steamapps\common\FINAL\\ FANTASY VII\data\movies\
D:\SteamLibrary\\steamapps\common\FINAL \\FANTASY VII\mods\Textures\
or something like that.
looks the same right? LOOK AGAIN. you'll see that i've got 2x \'s in places it shouldn't be
so since my paths were wrong the game wasn't loading any of the mods
(though this was not the case at first so this may or may not help)
sheesh... this only took all weekend lol...
« Last Edit: 2019-02-18 00:38:01 by TheOmegaFactor »

iDerek759

  • *
  • Posts: 252
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen then goes back to desktop
« Reply #1 on: 2019-02-18 00:21:49 »
What's your 7H Workshop settings look like? Is everything pointing to the right location??

TheOmegaFactor

  • *
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen then goes back to desktop
« Reply #2 on: 2019-02-18 00:45:43 »
it is now
not sure why i was getting \\ in places when it should only be \
but it's working now. well... other than The Reunion
but i can live with out that for now i guess

EDIT: ok i can get into a battle but then i get the oops error
GAH!!! certain features in the Tweaks and cheats Mod also cause a crash upon entering a battle D:
like lock inventory for example. but so far that's the only one i've used that causes it
Also the animation mod causes a crash upon battle enter. so i've disabled that.
will post more if i get anymore crashes
« Last Edit: 2019-02-18 01:40:29 by TheOmegaFactor »

iDerek759

  • *
  • Posts: 252
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen then goes back to desktop
« Reply #3 on: 2019-02-18 01:40:11 »
Depending on which mods you have activated you need to use a specific exe for it to function correctly.

TheOmegaFactor

  • *
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen then goes back to desktop
« Reply #4 on: 2019-02-18 01:42:44 »
ok so WHICH exe do i need for reunion? ff7_bc or mo?
i've tried all 3 but none work...
and it seems certain tweak settings cause a crash too...-_-
lucky tifa, lock inventory, god mode all cause crashes...
sigh...
also kinda off topic, which setting is the nightmare difficulty?
i really liked the dialog changes it made
« Last Edit: 2019-02-18 02:18:31 by TheOmegaFactor »

iDerek759

  • *
  • Posts: 252
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen then goes back to desktop
« Reply #5 on: 2019-02-18 02:44:25 »
So if you plan to use Reunion, bc.exe is the one that needs to be used, as it applies the Reunion translations as well as allows you to use the MO. If the exe's still aren't working for you, maybe try running the game converter over again and select the overwrite option and see what happens.

TheOmegaFactor

  • *
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen then goes back to desktop
« Reply #6 on: 2019-02-18 03:01:55 »
ok Reunion simply does not work
i tried running the game converter again and used the overwrite option to no avail
the game won't launch with Reunion active. dunno what else i can do

Richardse

  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen then goes back to desktop
« Reply #7 on: 2021-04-07 09:43:10 »
I reinstalled the game and the black screen disappeared, it was some kind of an error during the installation which caused this problem. I am using Linux and still a biginner, and lacking experience in working with it, it's such more different than windows, only the interface was easy to understand, because it uses the same principles and relatively the same marks for different tasks. It was a challenge for me when I decided to buy rdp, working with a new operating system, but I managed it out somehow, slowly but surely.
« Last Edit: 2021-04-10 00:11:28 by Richardse »

gulshannegi

  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen then goes back to desktop
« Reply #8 on: 2021-07-05 18:33:06 »
yes @Richardse RDP Server will help you to solve this issue, it is always difficult to work on different operating systems, Windows and Linux are the two most popular OS nowadays, and having many differences between them like UI and all. the first thing You should first consider how you want to secure the RDP connection. You could set up a VPN connection, you could lock down ports on the firewall to only certain IP addresses, you could add MFA to prevent brute force password attacks, etc.