Author Topic: I realized something...  (Read 8583 times)

liquidsub

• View Profile
I realized something...
« on: 2004-08-10 05:25:03 »
Might have been brought up before but just in case...

I noticed that you can hack a model and make it better, hence the new hi-res Cloud model. But what if you make it good enough to look like an FF12 model? Is that possible?

Same with making that Cloud field model where you see a taller Cloud outside of battles. Make it look PS2 quality.
Gotta be possible, right?
It may look funny cause you're having PS2 quality models fight against PS1 outdated graphics, but hey it's worth it. And if you wanna go crazy, then update all the monsters heh.

If you think I'm crazy, you should check out those guys who are remaking Chrono Trigger. So far it's PS2 quality and looking great.
Just a project I thought you guys might think of doing. I'd do it but I'm no expert at this stuff so excuse my ignorance if I don't know the true meaning of how hard this is.

halkun

• Global moderator
  • NicoNico :)
    • View Profile
    • Q-Gears Homepage
I realized something...
« Reply #1 on: 2004-08-10 05:56:57 »
and where is the chono trigger game that you speak of?

CForrester

I realized something...
« Reply #2 on: 2004-08-10 05:58:57 »
I don't think so... The FF7 engine is old, it won't be able to handle such a high-poly model without slowdowns.

Ged

• View Profile
    • http://acn.waw.pl/vanyel
I realized something...
« Reply #3 on: 2004-08-10 06:24:36 »
Making a h-q model and making a screenshot of it is one thing, putting it in your own game engine is a different thing, and adding it to an already existent engine.. especially FF7's... When rewriting everything it might be possible, but adding it in a way you mentioned is quite impossible..