Author Topic: [FF7PC-98/Steam] New Threat Mod (v2.0.99994)  (Read 4968128 times)

BeetleBrain

  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] New Threat Mod (v2.0.99994)
« Reply #11750 on: 2024-05-01 19:05:59 »
I read somewhere, that when beating all Fort Condor battles, you get a Masamune.

I missed a couple of them and already finished Cosmo Canyon...

Is there any chance to replay them or do i have to start over again?

Final_Figue

  • *
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] New Threat Mod (v2.0.99994)
« Reply #11751 on: 2024-05-02 01:53:43 »
Hello BeetleBrain.

You can get Masamune on Disc 3. Get that weapon is not related to Fort Condor.

OLKv3

  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] New Threat Mod (v2.0.99994)
« Reply #11752 on: 2024-05-02 06:04:55 »
I read somewhere, that when beating all Fort Condor battles, you get a Masamune.

I missed a couple of them and already finished Cosmo Canyon...

Is there any chance to replay them or do i have to start over again?

I think the free Masamune was patched out back in 1.5. Earlier builds had it, but I recently replayed it and didn't get anything for winning every Fort Condor battle. It was a bit TOO overpowered for something that requires no work or money really.

harkness riku

  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] New Threat Mod (v2.0.99994)
« Reply #11753 on: 2024-05-02 14:11:20 »
Hello. This question is for Chief or anyone knowledgeable on the subject, but two questions: 1, I recently noticed there was an update patch, I would like to know what all changes were made. 2. What happened to the chocobo that gave players the chocobo bracelet? It's not a big deal honestly, im humbly curious on why the sudden change. I fought like 4 waves of guards before realizing it wasn't coming out anymore.

HyruleGuy64

  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] New Threat Mod (v2.0.99994)
« Reply #11754 on: 2024-05-03 12:07:56 »
Hey Sega Chief, sorry to bother you. I'm playing through 2.0 rn and I'm really enjoying it, but are there any plans to release the upgraded polygon field models from NT as standalone model swaps? (Cloud with the darker outfit, Aerith with the visible white materia, etc) I really like how they look compared to the og ones and it'd be really cool if they could be used in vanilla (I still love NT though)

wdx

  • *
  • Posts: 187
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] New Threat Mod (v2.0.99994)
« Reply #11755 on: 2024-05-05 12:38:21 »
Hey Sega Chief, sorry to bother you. I'm playing through 2.0 rn and I'm really enjoying it, but are there any plans to release the upgraded polygon field models from NT as standalone model swaps? (Cloud with the darker outfit, Aerith with the visible white materia, etc) I really like how they look compared to the og ones and it'd be really cool if they could be used in vanilla (I still love NT though)

You can use 7th heaven mod manger to use a fair amount of upscaled models.
check out https://7thheaven.rocks/  and field upscales... should be below newthreat there is a handy autosort (if mod makers of the other mods put in the priority and tested vs).

eg its possible to have the likes of new threat mod alongside eg. Satsuki's SYW Unified packs.

PokeFaize

  • *
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] New Threat Mod (v2.0.99994)
« Reply #11756 on: 2024-05-06 21:01:10 »
I got around to getting a Gold Chocobo on Disc 2, and running through the Materia Caverns and umm... The one near Mideel seems to have a slight bug.

This purple materia just... exists in this room and cannot be interacted with. Is this supposed to be something? or is it not supposed to be there?

EDIT:
Additionally, where was Comet moved to? The documentation for where items are says it's still in Whirlwind Maze, however I didn't come across it during my playthrough (I also didn't get any Added-Effect materias until Tifa's Piano on Disc 2). It seems the Where Items Are document needs to be updated, since I also got a Steal-As-Well materia MUCH sooner than the document says I should've.
« Last Edit: 2024-05-06 21:08:57 by PokeFaize »

HyruleGuy64

  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] New Threat Mod (v2.0.99994)
« Reply #11757 on: 2024-05-06 22:17:59 »
You can use 7th heaven mod manger to use a fair amount of upscaled models.
check out https://7thheaven.rocks/  and field upscales... should be below newthreat there is a handy autosort (if mod makers of the other mods put in the priority and tested vs).

eg its possible to have the likes of new threat mod alongside eg. Satsuki's SYW Unified packs.

Thanks, but that's definitely not what I meant. I know you can do that. I'm asking if the field models included in New Threat, which are essentially the originals touched up, could at some point be released as a standalone mod, separate from New Threat. I would like to use those for a vanilla playthrough. I know there's a ton of options for HD model and texture swaps, but I happen to prefer the original graphics.

OLKv3

  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] New Threat Mod (v2.0.99994)
« Reply #11758 on: 2024-05-07 04:14:48 »
*) A secret encounter was made unmissable and can be accessed on Type A and Type B

Spoiler: show
Is this about the Calamity fight? Are there new ways to trigger it?

rufusluciusivan

  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] New Threat Mod (v2.0.99994)
« Reply #11759 on: 2024-05-07 18:13:34 »
Hello, thank you a lot for the mod!

I am currently playing 2.0, and i think i'm missing something.

Spoiler: show
I don't encounter the Scorpion Boss at the Shinra building (59th floor), with or w/o taking the elevator. Is it just removed in 2.0 ? Cause i saw it was a recurring character in a lot of playthroughs
I'm playing type B in Hard mode


Hello. If I recall well, this specific boss only appears in the Type A scenario.

harkness riku

  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] New Threat Mod (v2.0.99994)
« Reply #11760 on: 2024-05-08 14:13:28 »
Is there a readme anywhere that I can read for patch notes? I havent played in a while and along with the aforementioned scenario that changed in early game, I also noticed the W-machine gun steal in shinra tower is gone as well, giving players the cannon ball instead as the reward. I dont mind it but I would just love to see the list of changes please if possible.

Seraph_Sephiroth

  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] New Threat Mod (v2.0.99994)
« Reply #11761 on: 2024-05-09 06:37:12 »
Is there a readme anywhere that I can read for patch notes? I havent played in a while and along with the aforementioned scenario that changed in early game, I also noticed the W-machine gun steal in shinra tower is gone as well, giving players the cannon ball instead as the reward. I dont mind it but I would just love to see the list of changes please if possible.

Have you checked the documentation given in the original post? It says:

New Threat 2.0 Documentation
Download
Contains the following in Notepad format:
*) FF7 NT 2.0 Balancing
*) FF7 NT 2.0 Features Overview
*) FF7 NT 2.0 Item & Materia Placements
*) FF7 NT 2.0 Models List (modder's resource)
*) FF7 NT 2.0 Patch Notes
*) FF7 NT SP Upgrades

« Last Edit: 2024-05-09 06:46:46 by Seraph_Sephiroth »

Sega Chief

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 4088
  • These guys is sick
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] New Threat Mod (v2.0.99994)
« Reply #11762 on: 2024-05-14 18:18:36 »
https://imgur.com/a/NjrDynv - This is what my game looks like

https://imgur.com/a/PabvqDk - This is what it looks like on the guys youtube video.

Hello there! I hope this is the right place to be, I looked around and was brought here eventually. I'm playing New Threat, and I just got to the North Crater and fought Jenova Death, and now I can't continue. I looked up somebody playing this mod because I thought maybe the way to advance was a new way I wasn't thinking of, and all they did was talk to Tifa, and the game continued. HOWEVER, Tifa just isn't on my screen. Her dialogue during the "scene" showed up, but not her. I thought maybe she was just invisible so I clicked around her a lot, but nothing. What should I do?

I wasn't able to replicate this one; this bug was present in an older build though so perhaps this is an older build you're on or there are perhaps conditions by which the bug can still appear. I'd advise making sure the mod is up to date and to temporarily disable any other mods that may be active. If Tifa has somehow been swapped out of the party using something like save/phs anywhere then add her back in as she's supposed to be locked to the party for this section.

Hello, thank you a lot for the mod!

I am currently playing 2.0, and i think i'm missing something.

Spoiler: show
I don't encounter the Scorpion Boss at the Shinra building (59th floor), with or w/o taking the elevator. Is it just removed in 2.0 ? Cause i saw it was a recurring character in a lot of playthroughs
I'm playing type B in Hard mode


I think that one was removed in general from 2.0, but in Type B as well the additional guard scorpion encounters don't appear at all.

After replaying 1.5 I like how the summons were balanced in that game as good stat boosters to the type of build you want compared to 2.0 where the extremely heavy hit to DEX made me not bother with any of them besides Hades for stat protection
Also I really don't get why Ultima and Contain I think were locked so late to the final dungeon in 2.0. By time I got them I had no reason to really use them since almost everything was defeated

I can review the stats given on 2.0's summons and relax the Dex penalties a bit if they're too high. As for Ultima and Contain's placement, I think it depends when you do the additional stuff; I usually do the Crater first and then go for the side stuff in the base game. On Disc 3 for 2.0 there should be the materia cave fights, battle square, weapons, and an extra encounter here and there, and the final bosses for Ultima and Contain to be made use of but it depends how much of it was done beforehand.

I read somewhere, that when beating all Fort Condor battles, you get a Masamune.

I missed a couple of them and already finished Cosmo Canyon...

Is there any chance to replay them or do i have to start over again?

You do, but the battles need to be resolved either by defeating all enemies in the minigame (shack fight doesn't count) or by leaving the required funds with Fort Condor to take care of the battle. I set them to start with enough funds to cover all the battles that the player is unable to backtrack for but there's still a fair few encounters to take care of either by donating gil or backtracking to participate in the minigame.

The other way to get a Masamune is by having the guy who lives near Gongaga make one by giving him the required materials. The documentation should have the locations of these items listed.

Hello. This question is for Chief or anyone knowledgeable on the subject, but two questions: 1, I recently noticed there was an update patch, I would like to know what all changes were made. 2. What happened to the chocobo that gave players the chocobo bracelet? It's not a big deal honestly, im humbly curious on why the sudden change. I fought like 4 waves of guards before realizing it wasn't coming out anymore.

Patch notes should contain information on changes. The chocobo should still be there though, unless it's something like the Combat Only version of NT as field scripting can't be included with that version and so some encounters had to change.

Hey Sega Chief, sorry to bother you. I'm playing through 2.0 rn and I'm really enjoying it, but are there any plans to release the upgraded polygon field models from NT as standalone model swaps? (Cloud with the darker outfit, Aerith with the visible white materia, etc) I really like how they look compared to the og ones and it'd be really cool if they could be used in vanilla (I still love NT though)

Yeah, can do; I'll put an IRO together for it this weekend.

I got around to getting a Gold Chocobo on Disc 2, and running through the Materia Caverns and umm... The one near Mideel seems to have a slight bug.

This purple materia just... exists in this room and cannot be interacted with. Is this supposed to be something? or is it not supposed to be there?

EDIT:
Additionally, where was Comet moved to? The documentation for where items are says it's still in Whirlwind Maze, however I didn't come across it during my playthrough (I also didn't get any Added-Effect materias until Tifa's Piano on Disc 2). It seems the Where Items Are document needs to be updated, since I also got a Steal-As-Well materia MUCH sooner than the document says I should've.

It's just to the right of the first save point that you encounter in the whirlwind maze, south of where the newly added black cape merchant NPC is standing. It seems to be half-obscured by the rock though which isn't ideal so I may move it to be in the player's path. The backup pick-up location for Comet is in the North Crater, the left-down path.

*) A secret encounter was made unmissable and can be accessed on Type A and Type B

Spoiler: show
Is this about the Calamity fight? Are there new ways to trigger it?


Yes, but I don't actually recall making those changes yet so I'm thinking I've perhaps added that to the patch notes too early (I have two lists; pending changes and the patch notes that I copy over to once something's done; maybe I've accidentally copied that one in before it was actually done). I am planning to make the fight triggerable from all game types and regardless of where the player is progress-wise though so it'll likely be in the next patch.
« Last Edit: 2024-05-14 18:21:10 by Sega Chief »

OLKv3

  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] New Threat Mod (v2.0.99994)
« Reply #11763 on: 2024-05-15 22:28:10 »
Speaking of that fight, I'm trying to use Black Chocobo to trigger that fight by going back to the areas I'm locked out of, but Black Chocobo crashes whenever I load a New Threat 2.0 save file. Does anyone know of a fix for this?

Edit: The newer versions of Black Chocobo seem to be incompatible with endgame NT saves. But I went to older versions of it and it loaded the save fine.
« Last Edit: 2024-05-16 13:24:13 by OLKv3 »