Author Topic: Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]  (Read 807844 times)

Aali

  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #200 on: 2009-05-12 11:46:26 »
Actually, the movies do work, they're just never rendered to the screen properly.
The crash you had is because I'm still calling OpenGL 2.0 functions without checking whether its supported in some places.. (on my system that doesn't break anything since those functions exist)
It will all be fixed in 0.6b

Aurenasek116

  • *
  • Posts: 155
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #201 on: 2009-05-12 11:51:38 »
Uhm, I don't get what do you mean by movies not being aligned properly, they don't show o.O I get pure white screen in all places where FMV's play, it's very gamebreaking due to ammount of places that use FMV backgrounds.

Aali

  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #202 on: 2009-05-12 12:01:27 »
Well thats what I said, they aren't rendered to the screen properly (but they are being decoded and rendered to a texture)
Unless of course you don't have NPOT textures either, in which case you're really screwed. That one may be fixed in 0.6b, maybe not.
« Last Edit: 2009-05-12 12:03:26 by Aali »

Red46

  • *
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #203 on: 2009-05-12 12:16:17 »
I have been playing the game and now I reached the whirlwind maze, however I noticed something weird at the barriers. The wind never seems to stop, as in graphically you always get the image of the wind gust blowing, however the image is deceiving as it could be possible to pass despite the wind blowing full force. The only way to see changes, is to slam against the wind gust and fight the enemy, after the fights the screen will be "updated". I literally just stood there for a good 10 mins watching the wind and it has never changed once. Also, on the second barrier those green waves, have a weird behaviour, if the wind is not at full force, they will move from right to left as they should, however just before making contact with the stone path you are walking on, they will disappear and appear immediately to the left of the stone path, "skipping" it basically. Third and last, when sephiroth disguises as one of your party members to deceive your party member into bringing the black materia to the crater, the moment where your party mates disappear, and the character you gave the materia to wonders where they are gone, the rock path turns totally white.
« Last Edit: 2009-05-12 12:20:41 by Red46 »

Aali

  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #204 on: 2009-05-12 12:24:52 »
Not sure about that last issue, but the whirlwind maze issue is a known problem with the Nvidia fix. I haven't found the code responsible for it, but I think its writing directly to the palette (and the palette is only ever read when the texture is first loaded if the Nvidia fix is enabled). If I do find said piece of code, I can easily fix it.

Red46

  • *
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #205 on: 2009-05-12 13:34:26 »
Well, another bug report :P. In the crater, when cloud hands sephiroth the black materia, ff7 exe crashes with the following report:

Application that caused the error ff7.exe, version 0.0.0.0, module that caused the error msvcr90.dll, version 9.0.21022.8, address 0x0003b439.

I tried to play through that part with the d3d driver and, the fmw will play flawlessly. Also I noticed that the bug about the screen turning white is present also in the d3d driver, so perhaps is something related to the nvidia fix aswell.

Aali

  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #206 on: 2009-05-12 17:17:02 »
Looks like something messed up the stack there.. and I can't reproduce it, so that's not going to be easy to track down.

:EDIT:
Are you using the nice_movies option by any chance?
« Last Edit: 2009-05-12 17:18:55 by Aali »

Red46

  • *
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #207 on: 2009-05-12 21:58:15 »
Nope, I am playing with that option off.

Hellbringer616

  • *
  • Posts: 1913
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #208 on: 2009-05-13 00:28:18 »
Bug report, I can't play any movies, just a black screen shows up, At first i thought it was cause i am using the new movies by grimmy307

But even the Eidos logo and starting credits won't play.

Anyone else having this issue? I have the true motion codec so that can't be it.

Grimmy

  • *
  • Posts: 499
  • Join in my tarnished light.
    • View Profile
    • GrimmyGames
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #209 on: 2009-05-13 03:04:49 »
I just tried 0.5 and it is great. Just to see I put in the unedited CC secret ending at full resolution(1080x720) for my opening and wow it played perfect just as promised. I noticed some custom models are missing pieces. I remember this was discussed a few pages back being something about lighting or full alpha, Is their anyway to make those missing pieces visible in 0.6.

Chrysalis

  • ESUI Developer
  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 414
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #210 on: 2009-05-13 03:34:47 »
I confirm the wind graphics bug happens in the normal res as I have experienced it last time I played the game a year or so ago.

Aali

  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #211 on: 2009-05-13 16:19:59 »
hellbringer616:

Check APP.LOG for any glitch/error messages.

Oh and you don't need any codecs, they're all in the driver.

grimmy307:

Which custom models? I have to test them myself to be able to tell why they're not visible.

Hellbringer616

  • *
  • Posts: 1913
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #212 on: 2009-05-13 17:16:54 »
Got it to work, Forgot the all to important "\" at the end of the movie string in the reg haha. :wink:

Audio is skippy in the movies but i am sure thats not the drivers fault.

Anyway i can force 32 bit color over 16bit or whatever they use for movies? cause it almost hurts my eyes haha

Aali

  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #213 on: 2009-05-13 17:36:33 »
Actually, skippy audio may very well be the drivers fault. The movie player is a total hack and relies on audio data being available at the same time as the corresponding video frame. This is not always the case with certain codecs/muxers, especially if the audio stream is compressed with a VBR algorithm (original movies store audio as raw PCM data). During my tests I couldn't find any movies that triggered this problem, but its certainly possible to encode a movie that, while technically correct, won't play audio properly in this driver.

Video frames are converted to 32-bit BGRA before rendering, the only thing that still uses 16-bit colors, and this is completely unrelated to movies, is the framebuffer emulation (because the engine expects the framebuffer to be 640x480 BGRA5551, you can clearly see this during the Odin summon, there's a very noticeable drop in quality when monsters get sliced) and even this will go away with 0.6b

Hellbringer616

  • *
  • Posts: 1913
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #214 on: 2009-05-13 20:16:53 »
Oh alright, probably because of screensize as to why they are so grainy then haha. They seemed a bit more grainy then original ones, But oh well, Thanks for your help and as always, great work on the driver  :-D

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11006
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #215 on: 2009-05-13 20:32:01 »
yeah about that odin summon.  LAst time I used the driver (not 0.5), there were animation black boxes around the enemy sprites at the time they get split in half.

Aali

  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #216 on: 2009-05-13 22:54:15 »
yeah about that odin summon.  LAst time I used the driver (not 0.5), there were animation black boxes around the enemy sprites at the time they get split in half.

Indeed, that was a problem with 0.4b not loading the texture correctly, its not there in 0.5b.

:EDIT: On the other hand, 0.5b fudged just about all the other framebuffer effects :-P
« Last Edit: 2009-05-14 20:24:55 by Aali »

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11006
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #217 on: 2009-05-13 23:25:06 »
keep up the good work!  :-o

Grimmy

  • *
  • Posts: 499
  • Join in my tarnished light.
    • View Profile
    • GrimmyGames
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #218 on: 2009-05-14 01:38:28 »
I was using Namespoofer's AC models, and PRP.

The pic above with Cloud missing his left thigh is the same problem I experienced.

Aali

  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #219 on: 2009-05-15 02:49:04 »
I was using Namespoofer's AC models, and PRP.

The pic above with Cloud missing his left thigh is the same problem I experienced.

Since Namespoofer is not distributing his models anymore, could you provide a copy of them for testing purposes? PM me with the details.

drfeelgud88

  • *
  • Posts: 1355
  • da DOC iz here!
    • View Profile
    • My YouTube
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #220 on: 2009-05-15 04:15:52 »
yeah on my vista i have those graphic glitches as well! when i apply the AC (beta) mod or PRP mod, the characters are missing body parts such as legs, arms, etc. and even in battle, some of the monsters are invisible (i have the target icons on) and when i kill 1 of them, the others appear... any idea why is this? and wut the problem may be? this only happens on vista and not on xp so far as i know...

obesebear

  • *
  • Posts: 1389
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #221 on: 2009-05-15 15:27:10 »
Aali, I see that you mentioned the .tex format early on in this thread and was wondering if your driver already implements the ability to use bitmap (or any other format) to use in place of it.  From your post I get the feeling that this is already possible?

Aali

  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #222 on: 2009-05-15 15:45:48 »
Well, I don't control what the engine loads for me, but if you make a special .tex file that actually contains a filename, I'm sure we can do business :-D

I don't see the real benefit though, the .tex format is pretty capable on its own.

drfeelgud88

  • *
  • Posts: 1355
  • da DOC iz here!
    • View Profile
    • My YouTube
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #223 on: 2009-05-15 15:49:14 »
hey how do u post a pic on here? i want to show a pic of my gameplay to show my problems with any mod/patch that changes the character's appearances

Hellbringer616

  • *
  • Posts: 1913
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #224 on: 2009-05-15 15:56:16 »
hey how do u post a pic on here? i want to show a pic of my gameplay to show my problems with any mod/patch that changes the character's appearances

upload to photobucket, paste the image code