Author Topic: FF7 - Window.bin and font spacing  (Read 1693 times)

-Ori

  • Don't say 'goodbye'...
  • *
  • Posts: 411
  • Say you're gonna stay forever.
    • View Profile
    • The Reunion
FF7 - Window.bin and font spacing
« on: 2020-08-03 22:17:15 »
i have successfully implemented 2 different monospaced fonts in reunion, because it does away with window.bin and uses a hext file template
to change the font spacing

however, to do this for the vanilla game (and therefore to be able to release my fonts for 7h) i cant use hext

i've been told i need to uncompress window.bin, then edit the font spacing portion, and recompress it

if anyone can walk me through this process (i'm in no hurry, either... unless you are),
i will add you as a co-author to every font sheet i implement, and in addition i will also credit you as being the super-badass that you undoubtedly are

Aavock

  • *
  • Posts: 293
    • View Profile
Re: FF7 - Window.bin and font spacing
« Reply #1 on: 2020-08-04 03:36:23 »
Hi -Ori, thanks to lasyan3's Hack7 tool, editing font spacing is quite simple.

Just go to "Tools" then "Manage windows.bin", choose your windows.bin file then click the "Edit font width" button.

Can't wait to see your work, cheers!

-Ori

  • Don't say 'goodbye'...
  • *
  • Posts: 411
  • Say you're gonna stay forever.
    • View Profile
    • The Reunion
Re: FF7 - Window.bin and font spacing
« Reply #2 on: 2020-08-04 03:59:28 »
my UI mod is for the PC version, this tool works on the Playstation version only then?

still though, never thought about trying to mod the PS1 version (the version i grew up on) only because i thought it would be too hard

i'll check this out, thanks man


Aavock

  • *
  • Posts: 293
    • View Profile
Re: FF7 - Window.bin and font spacing
« Reply #3 on: 2020-08-04 15:37:23 »
It works with the PC version too.

-Ori

  • Don't say 'goodbye'...
  • *
  • Posts: 411
  • Say you're gonna stay forever.
    • View Profile
    • The Reunion
Re: FF7 - Window.bin and font spacing
« Reply #4 on: 2020-08-04 22:23:49 »
It works with the PC version too.

well i'll be damned... it does work for pc

i couldnt get v3b to work, gave me exception errors, but v2_1 worked like a charm

when i release this .iro you will be credited as a co-author of the fonts and i will also credit lasyan3 and his hack7 tool


the fonts i'm releasing are already done (with the exception of the spacing, as said in OP):

screens:
https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/726956405407481917/739576533299101726/20200802150016_1.jpg

https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/726956405407481917/739576837688000633/20200802151349_1.jpg
« Last Edit: 2020-08-04 22:27:41 by -Ori »

Aavock

  • *
  • Posts: 293
    • View Profile
Re: FF7 - Window.bin and font spacing
« Reply #5 on: 2020-08-04 23:52:30 »
Yeah, Hack7 is quite useful and recently helped me a lot too for that same purpose.

Great job, glad I could help!